Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Visa Waiver Program and ESTA

Nonimmigrant Visa Waiver Program(VWP)/ESTA

The VWP permits nationals from designated countries to apply for admission to the United States for 90 days or less as non-immigrant visitors for business or pleasure without first obtaining a nonimmigrant visa. Not all countries participate in the VWP, and not all travelers from VWP countries are eligible to use the program.

To learn more, read What Do I Need to Know About the VWP?

Visa Waiver Program and ESTA (ESTA)

All nationals and citizens of Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries, are required to obtain a travel authorization prior to initiating travel to the United States. This requirement commenced January 12, 2009. Authorization may be obtained online through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA), a free Internet application administered by the Department of Homeland Security.

There is a charge to complete the ESTA application. ESTA applications may be submitted at any time prior to travel. An ESTA authorization generally will be valid for up to two years. Authorizations will be valid for multiple entries into the United States. DHS recommends that travelers submit an ESTA application as soon as they begin making travel plans.

VWP visitors should apply now on ESTA.